APRIL 3 – 5, 2019

Sesto Fiorentino, Via Madonna del Piano, 10 50019 Sesto Fiorentino (FI)



Focusing optics on environmental and health challenges

The 2019 INO Annual Symposium

brings together researchers from INO and other Institutes of CNR, academic communities, presenting and discussing their most recent scientific results in a lively three-day meeting. The 2019 edition focuses on the applications of optics and photonics to the global challenges of environment and health.


Chris Xu

Chris Xu

Keynote speaker

Professor, School of Applied and Engineering Physics, Cornell University Imaging Deeper and Faster: Watching the Brain in Action with Ultrafast Lasers Brain research is a multi-disciplinary endeavor, and inspires the development of innovative measurement tools. Multiphoton microscopy is the go-to technique for high spatial resolution, deep imaging in scattering biological tissue, and relies heavily on…

Read More

Stephan Borrmann

Keynote speaker

Professor, Institute for Atmospheric Physics Johannes-Gutenberg-University, and Director, Max-Planck-Institute for Chemistry, Particle Chemistry Department Born in 1959 in Mainz Study of Physics and Biology Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (1977-1984) Adjunct Research Instructor at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey/CA/USA (1985-1986) PhD in Physics (1991) Postdoctoral Fellow of the Advanced Study Program (University Corporation of Atmospheric…

Read More

  • Lucia Gardini
  • Francesco Scazza
  • Francesco Cappelli
  • Andrea Macchi
  • Federico Gorelli
  • Alice Dalfovo
  • Nicole Fabbri
  • Valentina Di Sarno
  • Nicola Biagi
  • Fernando Brandi

  • Pietro Lombardi
  • Fulvio Ratto
  • Alessio Recati
  • Costantino De Angelis
  • Silvia Viciani
  • Pietro Malara
  • Luca Palchetti
  • Irene Costantini
  • Luca Tanzi
  • Francesco Riboli
  • Jacopo Galli


Scientific Committee

  • Paolo De Natale (CNR-INO)
  • Marco Bellini (CNR-INO)
  • Francesco D’Amato (CNR-INO)
  • Leonardo Sacconi (CNR-INO)
  • Saverio Bartalini (CNR-INO)
  • Alessandro Lucchesini (CNR-INO)
  • Iolanda Ricciardi (CNR-INO)
  • Stefan Wabnitz (CNR-INO)

  • Alessio Recati (CNR-INO)
  • Daniela Fontani (CNR-INO)
  • Riccardo Cicchi (CNR-INO)
  • Franco Miglietta (CNR-IBIMET)
  • Francesca Rossi (CNR-IFAC)
  • Francesco Pavone (LENS)
  • Diederik Wiersma (INRIM)
  • Francesco Saverio Cataliotti (UniFi)

Organizing Committee

  • Ilaria Bini
  • Paola Fraioli
  • Silvia Viciani
  • Guido Toci
  • Jacopo Catani
  • Elisabetta Baldanzi
  • Alessio Montori
  • Ludovico Silvestri